Private Browsing in Mozilla Firefox
If you are concerned about the footprint left behind from your browsing activity while using Firefox, this popular web browser has a built in security feature to help protect you from prying eyes.
Visited web pages, usernames, passwords, and other information become a part of the history that Firefox remembers to make your next browsing experience more enjoyable. However, if you prefer to use Firefox without the browser remembering your history, you can turn on its Private Browsing feature.
What is Private Browsing?
When using Firefox’s Private Browsing feature, the following information will no longer be remembered by the browser as history:
Form and Search Bar Entries
Downloaded Files List
Web Cache Files
Caveats to using the Private Browsing feature in Firefox
There are two caveats to using the Private Browsing feature in Firefox.
First, any new bookmarks you create while in Private Browsing mode will not be removed or deleted when you deactivate Private Browsing.
Second, files saved to your computer under Private Browsing will not be deleted when you stop using this feature. However, temporary files you downloaded will be deleted from your computer’s temporary folder. Luckily, none of these files will ever show up in the Downloaded files list.
Turn on Private Browsing
There are two ways to turn on Private Browsing. The temporary method allows you to turn Private Browsing on and off at will. The permanent method allows you to use Private Browsing as a permanent choice. Read on to learn both methods.
Temporary Private Browsing
To turn Private Browsing on and off at will, begin by opening Firefox and clicking on Tools and then Start Private Browsing. You can also turn on this feature by using the Ctrl+Shift+P shortcut key combination.
Permanent Private Browsing
This time, however, you will have to shut down and restart Firefox yourself. When you do, Firefox will use Private Browsing mode every time you use Firefox.
Remember, however, that activating and deactivating Firefox’s Private Browsing option only affects your accounts.
No other accounts on your computer are affected by your personal option changes.
If you want all users on your computer to browse the web with Private Browsing activated, you will need to log into each account with your own administrator account and make the change manually.
- How to Start Private Browsing Session in Google Chrome?
- History Deleter for Firefox lets you selectively purge browsing history
- Learn How to Disable Hardware Acceleration (GPU Rendering) in Mozilla Firefox 4.0 to Fix Font Problem
- Hack Mozilla Firefox – Firefox Speed hacks
- Lets enable ‘Save and Quit’ option in Firefox 4 !